(1) DTaP, IPV and Hib are given as a single pentavalent vaccine.

(2) DTaP and IPV are given as a single tetravalent vaccine.

(3) The first dose of RTV is recommended before the age of 12 weeks, but not earlier than six weeks. Also, the child should not be older than 26 weeks (i.e. 6.5 months) when the third dose is given. RTV was introduced in September 2009.

(4) BCG is given only to children considered high-risk groups.

Additional comments:

Hepatitis B vaccine is given  only to infants of HbgAg-positive mothers and fathers at the age of 0, 1, 2, and 12 months.

Influenza: Vaccination against seasonal influenza is given to children 6-35 months of age annually since autumn 2007.  

From the beginning of 2009 pneumococcal vaccinations (PCV and PPV) are given to risk groups <5 years of age as a part of national vaccination programme.


The national vaccination programme



At birth Vaccine against tuberculosis (BCG) (4)

 2 months

 Rotavirus vaccine (RTV)
 3 months

 Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis (DTaP), inactivated polio vaccine (IPV),  haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine (Hib) (1), pneumococcal heptavalent conjugate vaccine (PCV7), RTV (3)

 5 months DTaP, IPV, Hib (1), PCV7, RTV
 12 months DTaP, IPV, Hib (1), PCV7
 14-18 months Measles-mumps-rubella vaccine (MMR)
 6 - 35 months Influenza (every year)
 4 years DTaP (2), IPV
 6 years MMR
 14-15 years Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis (dTaP)
 Adults, every 10 years Diphtheria-tetanus (dT)

Source: National Institute for Health and Welfare, 2011